Nessun Dolore: afro cosmic solidarity with Italy

This is a tribute DJ mix to an alternative even underground style of electronic dance music that deeply exudes the Italian culture and mentality, but it also acquires an international character. I'm talking about the afro-cosmic style, that was created and evolved from the late 70s to the 90s, by underground DJs of northern Italy, chiefly the geniouses of Daniele Baldelli, Beppe Loda and DJ Mozart (Claudio Rispoli). However, the roots of afro-cosmic are located during the 70s, when mainly Neapolitan artists, for instance Tony Esposito and Tullio De Piscopo, merged prog-jazz rock with african rhythms, traditional southern Italian music and a dose of avant-garde. Nowadays the afro-cosmic style flourishes all around the world and of course the Italian artists are at its forefront: Baldelli along with Marco Dionigi, Mushrooms Project, Marvin & Guy, Tiger & Woods, Bottin and more. 

So,  this set includes tracks mainly by the new generation of Italian afro-cosmic musicians and producers, but also remakes of classic Italian trobadours, along with some amazing chiefly British guests. 

This work is also an act of solidarity with the Italian people who suffer greatly by the coronovirus crisis. I really love Italian culture, from the arts to gastronomy and my travels to Italy were fascinating. 

I hope that Italy will overcome the crisis quickly and recover.


01. Marco Dassi - Amigdala (Mushrooms Project Remix)
02. Roisin Murphy - Ancora Ancora Ancora (Severino and Nico de Ceglia Remix)
03. Daniele Baldelli, DJ Rocca - Complotto Geometrico (Andrew Weatherall Remix)
04. Cannibal Ink - The Souk (Mushrooms Project Remix)
05. Mixtechi - Kitara (Tribal Version)
06. Masimo Barsotti - Whole Lotta Love
07. Lucio Dalla - Washington (DJLMP Refragments)
08. Bottin - No Static
09. Lucio Battisti - Nessun Dolore (Stereocool Edit)
10. Tiger & Woods - Machete
11. Marvin & Guy - Discoteque
12. Crimea X - Essential (The Time & Space Machine Remix)
13. Franco Battiato - Summer On A Solitary Beach (Queemose Remix)


Bu dunya cark filek // Ο κόσμος είναι ρόδα και γυρίζει // Τhe world is a spinning wheel

Εμπνευσμένο και επηρεασμένο από το αριστουργηματικό διήγημα του Αλέξανδρου Παπαδιαμάντη Ο Ξεπεσμένος Δερβίσης, το δωδέκατο επεισόδιο του Magical Mystery Tour έφερε κοντά αρχαίες παραδόσεις της Ανατολής με τον τρέχοντα ηλεκτρονικό, τόσο ατμοσφαιρικό όσο και χορευτικό, ήχο. Στην έναρξη του set, ο παλαιός και σταθερός σύντροφος εν της φιλίας όπλοις Γιώργος Θάνος, ο οποίος πέρσι έκανε και το λογοτεχνικό του ντεμπούτο με τη συλλογή διηγημάτων τα Καύκαλα στις εκδόσεις Ιωλκός, διαβάζει ένα απόσπασμα από τον Ξεπεσμένο Δερβίση.

Influenced and inspired by the masterful short story, The Ruined Dervish by Alexandros Papadiamantis, Magical Mystery Tour's twelfth episode brought together ancient traditions of the East with the current electronic- both atmospheric and dance- sound. At the start of the set, Giorgos Thanos, antique and solid brother in the arms of friendship, who also made his literary debut last year with the collection of short stories Kafkala (Iolkos Editions), reads an excerpt from The Ruined Dervish.


01. Islandman - The True Word Of The Wind
02. Vangelis Papathanasiou - We are all uprooted (Plughead Edit)
03. Meatraffle - On The Moon (Andrew Weatherall Remix)
04. G.E.N.E. - Children's Green (Tagliabue 'Tribal Italia' Rework) 
05. Pilgrims of the Mind - Nothing Can Pull Us Apart
06. Shkoon - Lala
07. Simple Symmetry - Incredible Adventures In Khazar Khaganate
08. Fila Brazillia - The Silver Scale
08. Saâda Bonaire - You Could Be More As You Are (Jack Priest's Passion For Fashion Rework)
10. Mildlife - How Long Does It Take



75 / 365+1

I was astonished by the incredible new music of the first two and a half months, i.e. the first 75 of the 365+1 days of 2020,  this leap year! So, I am bringing to you a personal selection of tracks from this rich season in music.

Ενθουσιάστηκα από την απίστευτη νέα μουσική των δυόμιση πρώτων μηνών, δηλαδή των πρώτων 75 ημερών από τις 365+1 του 2020, το οποίο βέβαια είναι δίσεκτο! Οπότε, σας προσφέρω μια προσωπική επιλογή κομματιών από αυτή την πλούσια περίοδο στη μουσική.


01. Nicolas Jaar - Sunder
02. islandman - Hold Your Breath
03. Stergios - Dream Sky (Love Mix) 
04. Casta - Galaverna
05. Die Wilde Jagd - Himmelfahrten (Single Version)
06. Landikhan - Earth Chronicles (Original Mix) 
07. RY X, Ólafur Arnalds - Oceans
08. Vasili - Hidden Inside
09. EOB - Brasil
10. Steven Wilson - Personal Shopper 
11. Flug 8 - Autopilot (LOR Remix)
12.  Wolf Müller & Niklas Wandt - Ahu (Phazer Boys Laser-Dub)
13. Four Tet - Baby (Original Mix) 
14. Caribou - Never Come Back
15. Coma-Chi, Uyama Hiroto - The Dawn of Reiwa

This mix is dedicated to L.